8/02/07 at 1:05 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Well, there has been some wailing and gnashing of teeth upon hearing of the Possumblogger’s promotion to a real job where there probably won’t be time to blog.  As Sally Struthers once said, we all would like to make more money, so I can’t blame Terry for seizing the opportunity.  While much has changed in the blogosphere, the Axis of Weevil seemed to keep spinning fairly regularly.

He will be missed, and maybe he’ll get back to partial-strength blogging, but it probably won’t be like it was before.  Who knows, maybe in 20 years he’ll retire and blog full-time … if Miss Reba doesn’t have a big honey-do list waiting for him!  I don’t think anyone can truly replace him, so it’ll be interesting to see how the “gang” hangs together, if at all.

As for myself, my company/division has been bought out by a big multi-national corporation, but the actual transition won’t happen until the end of September.  As the IT guy, I’ll have my hands full trying to figure out how to gracefully severe ties with the old corporate servers and connect to the new corporate overlords.  The new corporate offices are about 2 1/2 hours away, so I anticipate some more business travel.

Not that I’ve been blogging all that much, but my surfing time could have to change as well, depending on what the new corporation’s expectations are.  I’m looking forward to seeing the changes, but I don’t have a desire to move, so any chance of my own promotion is nil.  We’re also waiting for an appeal by the birth mother of the two kids (from the court case when her rights were terminated) before we can adopt them and that could take another year.  The DSS would not look too kindly at me taking the kids out of the county.

The plant where I work should stay open for at least another couple of years.  The question is will my services still be required, and do I still want to keep providing those services.  The paycheck is nice, but I wonder sometimes if there’s more I could be doing somewhere else for more money.  Taking a gamble with that change is difficult, especially as I have three young’uns and a wife who like to eat and spend money (like most folks do).

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Best wishes with all the transition stuff! We’ve had a lot of changes at work over the last couple of years, and they are severing what’s left of our team into two. I wish I were in the other half, as they get to re-join many of the folks who left our team for greener pastures.

    I’m still holding out hope that we’ll move to the department which is paying us. We’ll have to wait and see on that one. *Sigh*

    I’m sure God will take care of you, whatever you decide to do. We’re still trying to figure out where we’re being led, as we are kind of pulling in opposite directions. Nothing to do but be patient and pray, I guess!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

