Christian Heavy Metal

5/06/08 at 10:49 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Yes, Spudlets soldiers on.  The combination of not posting from work along with the recent upgrade (and having to do a reinstall) of the home computer to WinXP has crimped the flow of ponderous posts.  Time marches on, for lack of a more tritely phrase, as do the thoughts worthy enough to make a Spudlets posting.

Oldest boy turned 10 on April 8.  One of his presents was tickets to a Skillet concert.  They are wrapping up the “Comatose” tour, and after having to sit through it I’m still shaking off some of the comatosity myself.  Yes, I volunteered to take him to Charlotte for the show.  On Sunday after church we loaded up at the local Taco Bell and then headed down the road to Cricket Arena.

It was a 7:30 pm show.  We thought we needed to be there a few hours early to beat the crowds for a good seat as it was general admission seating.  When we got there at 2 pm, there were a few dozen people in line, so we dinked around town (since it was an hour and a half drive back home).  After about an hour we returned and things had not really changed.  I found a shady spot to sit down and read the paper while the boy explored around the outside of the auditorium.

By 3:30 we decided to stand in line, hoping they’d open the doors at 5:30.  They did not open until 6:30, making it a solid three hours of standing on a concrete walk.  We were able to get 4th row seats, and the total attendance may have reached a thousand.  Maybe.  I suppose that’s why they were in no hurry to open up the doors any earlier.

The first band, Decypher Down, had a lead and rhythym guitarist as well as a bass player, but you could not pick out anything “musical” beyond the crunch chords and pounding beat.  While these bands were billed as Christian, you could not discern that from the lyrics as they were unintelligible.  They did give a brief witness/praise at the end, so that was something.

Oh yeah … thank God for earplugs!!  The next band, Thousand Foot Krutch, was slightly better musically with one less guitarist, and you could make out a few more words, but otherwise it was more of the same.  I got to the point where I almost nodded off a few times in spite of the high volume, as the sound waves were numbing me to sleep.  Since I was looking forward to a long drive at night after the show, I decided to gut it out.

The youngster owns the recent Skillet CD (Comatose), and we naturally had to play it on the way to the show – it’s tradition.  I was familiar with some of the songs, and even got up out of my chair for a few of them.  They were fairly accomplished musicians, and I was able to pick up more (but not much) of the lyrics.  A few of the songs featured a cello player, something you usually don’t see at a “rock” show.

The boy enjoyed all of the bands, particularly Skillet.  He slept most of the way back, and by the grace of God I was able to make it without any nodding-off on the drive home.  We got back at 12:30, giving me a total of 16 hours wearing the same clothes/shoes.  I was the only one dressed there (in khakis and polo shirt) who looked like they came from church, but that’s OK as I was playing the “Dad chaperone” mode.

What struck me the most at the show were the “yutes”, as I don’t normally spend much time with teenagers.  Some had a “worldly” appearance, tattoes and piercings, and most wore black t-shirts and jeans or shorts.  Many of the t-shirts were ones with clever Christian messages, or ones from other Christian concerts.  I shouldn’t have been, but I was a little surprised to see the girls rocking along with the guys.  While some may call it Christian rock (and roll?), it was heavy metal.  I’ve been to enough of those shows (30 years ago – yikes!) to know it when I see it.

It’s the age-old question of how far do you go in the world and not be of the world.  The yutes have a tough time trying to fit in yet (hopefully) honoring the Lord, so I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt.  It didn’t look like the mosh pit was out-of control, so that was good.  I still wrestle with the concept of Christian heavy metal as it doesn’t seem to be a “joyful noise”, but the kids seemed pretty happy during the show.  Chalk it up to old-fartness.

[And the boy did say thank you when we got home – without prompting!  There is hope …]

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Heaven help me when I have the music of the next generation to deal with… I’m still getting used to Paul’s 70’s Christian rock!

    😉
    Lenise

  2. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Poacher.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

