Yes I’m here

8/27/08 at 5:08 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

As the weeks go by, I get a better appreciation of how blogs die. What started as a method of “prose practice” morphed into a community of folks to interact with on a small cloud in the blogosphere. Things change, people gain other interests and/or other things demand their time, to the point that hobbies like blogging fall by the wayside.

I still maintain this website, and there are things I’d like to store here if I ever get off of my duff and copy stuff over. I just don’t think there’s enough interest by me as well as those who may still come to visit to maintain some sort of personal diary. I can find other places to vent on particular subjects, particularly my fondness for a particular dark blue/burnt orange football team.

So the things I put in here are for storage. Perhaps there will be a few things I can look up years from now and get a chuckle. Perhaps.

– Tomorrow is my seven-squared anniversary, and I keep thinking of “lucky” things I can do. It ends up being just another day in a way. Lately my birthdays have been better since there are youngsters around to help me get excited. So yes, I’m very lucky to have them, even if they occasionally pose some behavior “challenges”.

– I cannot recall a “finalist” presidential candidate so unqualified as Barry. Prior to his initial term in the Senate (where he has been absent for nearly a year), he was elected to a state and a local/city office. There is no leadership experience, yet he has a good chance of being the leader of the free world. How could so many people be so gullible to the “change” message? Were they that p-o’d with GWBush? Did they swallow the crap from the MSM and have been brainwashed into thinking the “current occupant” is the worst President ever? Years from now people are going to realize how lucky we were to have people at that level with experience in the oil industry and knew how vital it was to gamble on bringing some stability to that area.

– Iraq was a gamble, but the consequences of Barry’s “let’s just reason” plan with folks like Saddam would have been far worse. Al Qaeda knows that oil is the lifeblood for the “infidel’s” economies. Their long-term goal is to control the Mideast and the flow of oil. The Sauds dance with them as they can be useful instruments sometimes, yet dangerous as well. While Saddam may not have negotiated directly with bin Laden, he did work with some leaders from al Qaeda. A democratic and free Iraq will help countries like Egypt and Jordan to change, and hopefully a domino effect can take hold of that region. Unfortunately, Arab men are inclined to be authoritarian and the society is tribal, so the leader of the biggest tribe typically tends to rule things.

– On PBS Monday night, I caught the part in between the end of Teddy Kennedy’s “tribute” and the beginning of Mrs. Obamamama’s speech. The talking heads on PBS were making big smooching noises over TK. One guy said that TK was one of the greatest Senators ever, a top 5 candidate. What?! Fortunately most of my dinner had already been digested by then. I snoozed through Mrs. Obamamama’s speech, and found out that I didn’t miss much.

– The paperwork going through the lawyer/court has been started in order to finalize the adoption of the 4 y.o. girl and 5 y.o. (6 in three weeks) boy. It will take a few months to process it, so hopefully it will be a Christmas gift for us. DSS was gracious enough to let us homeschool the boy, something we were concerned they would not allow since the adoption is not final yet. I did get a little teary-eyed as I was signing the paperwork and saw their names with my last name. Something about that chokes me up. We’ve had to use their birth-father’s last name since we got them, and I look forward to putting that name to the side.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Happy bird-day to ewe! Welcome to the almost-50 club, the almost AARP-qualified, mid-life confusion club. How are you celebrating?

    Congrats on the change of last name for the little ones – how exciting that everything is moving into the final stages! Bless you and Krystal (and the little Tater)for the love and care you’ve lavished on those two.

    Sen. Obama is the least qualified candidate in my lifetime – no experience, and from what I’ve seen, no real understanding of the complexities of governing. It seems people are finally beginning to see him for the lightweight he is, but I’m not willing to guess the outcome of the election yet.

  2. Thanks – it was just a quiet celebration. I thought I could be lucky-squared since I turned 7-squared and gave into ol’ devil temptation. Yes, I bought some lottery tickets. Typical results – losers. At least I’m lucky in love 😉 .

  3. Happy belated birthday! Our Jay-bear turns four on Sunday. Crazy!!

    Congratulations on getting the adoption process close to wrapped up! Family life is such a blessing, even if it is downright exhausting 😉


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

