Thurs3 – Possum Thanks

11/19/09 at 10:29 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Well, posting again this week almost makes me not a “non-blogger”.  Almost.  Possum Papa asked for our thankful thoughts before we give thanks (before a big spread of food hopefully) in a week.  I could make it easy and just give thanks for all the Lord has blessed me with, how he cares for me in spite of my disobedience.  I’m not thankful for the disobedience I’ve had to deal with lately from my own young’uns.  We seem to be in one of those valleys of stubbornness, where requests have to be repeated and threats made before simple tasks are completed.  Ooops, enough crabbin’ – I’m supposed to be thankful!  Here goes:

1. What one person are you most thankful for this year?  I’ll go with Sarah Palin, as she makes liberals go crazy.  She seems to be the only “big” politician espousing true conservative ideals of reducing government, cutting taxes and bringing accountability back to government.  It makes me chuckle when people get goggle-eyed over cutting her down and saying how she’s not qualified yet try to defend the current White House occupant.  I hope there’s enough country to save in three years.
2. What one thing are you most thankful for this year?  I’m tempted to say the trade for bringing Cutler to the Bears, but that’s a work in progress.  We got good chunks of money back from taxes and when we refinanced the house, so we were able to take care of bills, put in a new roof and installed a real ceee-ment driveway.  Even better, somebody else did the work!  And the grass seed I sowed a few weeks ago around the edges of the driveway sprouted and is doing purty good!!
3. What one event are you most thankful for this year?  Lady Kristal went overboard for my birthday this year, and it seems like a long time since some one made a fuss over me.  Prideful and selfish?  Maybe.  I didn’t ask for it, was semi-surprised and am grateful for those who contributed. 

4.  What about me?  Obli-dee, obla-da, life goes on (WHOA) laa la la la la la la laaaa.  The company I work for is doing OK now, but I’m bored to tears.  Unfortunately my plan for employment emancipation and economic pot-o’-gold is lagging.  I have nobody to blame but myself.  Can’t even tag the Obaminator with this one.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Boredom can be quite a motivator, though! Well, sometimes. Obviously doesn’t work too well in motivating recalcitrant offspring…

  2. That is one of the key questions for shaping the behavior of recalcitrant offspring: what motivates them, and how can I (as a parent) use that to shape their behavior? Unfortunately the motivator is a moving target, lasting about the same amount of time as they can sit still. Well, if it was easy to raise young’uns then the state would do it – at least Hillary and her village.

    As for me, the old fart, I seem to be content to sit here in the stench of my own making. You get used to the smell after a while – er, ummm, I’ve gotten used to it – and excuses are very handy to justify the “stuck in the mud” paradigm. I have to get past the fear of gambling, yet my gamble will affect three hungry-for-electronics-and-other-consumables children. Getting the grub stake is challenging too. Enough vagaries for now, I’ll just give thanks for my marsupial and other friends and move along.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

